2017 School Board Election

Serving on a school board is a challenging job that requires leadership, vision and dedication. A school board member is entrusted with one of the most important responsibilities that can be assigned to a citizen: ensuring that Iowa schools help students reach high levels of educational achievement.

Iowa Association of School Boards
IASB Resources & Information
2017 School Board Elections
FAQ's | Key Dates | IASB Guide for School Board Candidates

Iowa Secretary of State
Nomination Petition | Candidate's Guide

Applications are required to be submitted between July 10 - August 3 to the Bettendorf Community School District Administration Center, 3311 18th St., Bettendorf.


Three positions in the seven-member Bettendorf Board of Education are up for election this September.

Bettendorf Board of Education Directors completing their current 4-year terms in September: Betsy Justis (11 years of service), Scott Tinsman (11 years of service), Pepper Trahan (8 years of service).

2017 Election Dates

Tuesday, July 10First day to file nomination papers with the board secretary.
Thursday, Aug. 3Last day to file nomination papers. Deadline is 5 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 4Nominations Delivered to Auditor's Office
Tuesday, Aug. 8 Last day candidates may withdraw.
Last day written objections to nomination papers or eligibility of candidates may be filed.
Tuesday, Sept. 12Election Day

Polling Places

  • B11 - Bettendorf City Hall - 1609 State St.
  • B12 - Mississippi Bend A.E.A - 729 21st St.
  • B21 - Cross Point Church - 1330 Spruce Hills Dr.
  • B22 - Hope Baptist Church - 1642 Tangle Foot Ln.
  • B23 - Bettendorf Public Library - 2950 Learning Campus Dr.
  • B32 - Bettendorf Public Library - 2950 Learning Campus Dr.
  • B42 - St John Vianney Church - 4097 18th St.

Find your polling place
through Citizen Information webpage